Drake University Pappajohn Center logo
Northern Iowa Area Communit College Pappajohn Center logo
University of Iowa Pappajohn Center logo
Iowa State University Pappajohn Ceter logo
UNI JPEC Logo.png

©2019 John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Venture Competition

Ames-based r-pipe wins John Pappajohn Iowa Business Plan Competition

Date: Monday, September 30, 2013

The 2013 John Pappajohn Iowa Business Plan Competition came to a close on Sept. 26 with the announcement of the winners at a special recognition luncheon at Drake University in Des Moines.

  • R-pipe received first place and $25,000. R-pipe is a civil engineering company that makes pipe from waste material that is lighter, more durable, as strong, and is slightly less expensive than concrete pipe.  The company was founded in 2013 and is located in Ames. 
    Contact: Tom Cackler

  • Memcine Pharmaceuticals Inc. came in second and received $15,000. Memcine Pharmaceuticals Inc. developed the platform technology for the improvement of vaccine efficacy against infectious diseases and cancer therapeutics.  The company was founded in 2010 and is located in Coralville.
    Contact: Tony Vanden Bush

  • ScoutPro Inc. received third place and $10,000. The company uses a crop scouting system developed by crop scouts to insure accurate, efficient identification and management. The company was founded in 2011 and is based in Ames.
    Contact: Holden Nyhus

"Special thanks to John Pappajohn who, through his unwavering commitment to foster entrepreneurship in Iowa, has again sponsored this business plan competition and has provided extensive support for entrepreneurship in Iowa, said Randy Pilkington, director of the University of Northern Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center.

Details about next year's John Pappajohn Iowa Business Plan Competition will be announced in February. For additional information about the competition, visit www.iowabusinessplancompetition.com or contact one of the JPEC centers via the contact information below.

Drake University John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center
Debra Bishop

Iowa State University John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center
Judi Eyles

North Iowa Area Community College John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center
Jamie Zanios

University of Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center
David Hensley

University of Northern Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center
Randy Pilkington